Mixed Message on Market, 21 March 2012

Standard

Good Evening:

I’m trying to figure out exactly what the man (I’m convinced it was a man) who posted this cardboard sign on a tree at Market & Fifth Streets wanted to communicate. I was on my way home, having taken BART from Berkeley to the Powell Street Station, and I had trotted up the stairs to Market Street to await a ride at the Muni bus stop. I didn’t have time to take more than a few shots, of which this is the clearest:

Nikon Coolpix S9100, Landscape Mode & Orientation

Yes, that is a Bowie knife (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bowie_knife) pinning the sign to the tree. Rather a mixed message, I hope. Please, let this be a mixed message and not a clear one.

Vonn Scott Bair

3 responses »

  1. I can’t tell if he is saying a million or one hundred thousand. That is a big difference! Also, the knife is a little disturbing. Even more so that no one in that city took the knife!

Leave a Reply

