Bubbles

Standard

Good Evening:

San Francisco was a lot of fun today–and all I did today was errands!–so I thought I’d share a fun (and true!) story I told my friends on October 11, 2010. Enjoy.

Vonn Scott Bair

Bubbles

Good Afternoon:

So late Saturday afternoon, about 5:30 p.m., I was walking down Noe Street in San Francisco on my way to dinner before walking to the annual Litquake Literary Crawl, when I saw bubbles floating in the air above the intersection of Noe and Beaver.

Just bubbles floating in the air.

There must have been a couple of thousand bubbles gently nudged along by the late afternoon breeze, each bubble about the size of a grape, most of them clustered together like bunches of Pinot Noir, glowing prismatically in the late afternoon light.

I have no idea where they came from. I let one cluster settle into my hand like a butterfly. It smelled of laundry detergent, but there was no laundry nearby, in fact, there was no source of bubbles visible along the entire block. The bubbles simply were and they were there floating above the head of one quietly amazed walker.

Vonn Scott Bair

PS–I had an excellent dinner at Starbelly, and then walked to a literary reading of murder mysteries at the Mission District station of the San Francisco Police Department. I walked past a digderidoo player on Valencia Street on my way to the reading, which was moderated by a retired police officer who wore a blue Hawaiian shirt decorated with acoustic guitars.

It’s official–San Francisco is magic.

Re(2): Bubbles

October 17, 2010

Good Evening:

Mystery solved. I learned the origin of the bubbles. The gentleman who works in the cubicle next to me told me about this crazy party he had attended that day. The host had rented a bubble blowing machine and filled his entire backyard at least waist-high with bubbles, and the guests played in it all day long, sending bubbles flying everywhere.

The party took place one block uphill from where I stood.

Vonn Scott Bair

One response »

  1. Pingback: San Francisco, Sunday Afternoon, 12 May 2013 | The San Francisco Scene--Seen!

Leave a Reply

