Master & Acolyte on the 22-Fillmore

Standard

Good Evening:

I was coming home from the Rainbow Grocery, my favorite radical left-wing cooperatively-owned vegetarian grocery store in San Francisco, and I couldn’t help but notice one guy sitting across the aisle. He was a big, burly guy, about 25 years old, heavy but strong looking, as if he might have played on the defensive line back in high school. But that’s not why I noticed him; I noticed him first because of his dark gray porkpie hat, at least 3 sizes too small.

And second, I noticed him because of his phone call. Naturally, I have no idea what the caller said to him. I give his half of the conversation to you without commentary, as best as I can remember.

“Hello, Master. Yes, Master. I know, Master. You are correct, Master. Yes, I know, Master. Yes, Master. Yes, Master. Yes, Master.

“Didn’t you get the email attachments I sent you?!

“Yes. Master.

“I’m sorry, Master. I’m sorry, Master. I’m sorry, Master. I’m sorry, Master. I’m sorry, Master. I’m sorry, Master. I’m sorry, Master. I’m sorry, Master. I’m sorry, Master. I’m sorry, Master.

“Yes, Master.

“I am perfect, Master. I am perfect, Master. I am perfect, Master. I am perfect, Master. I am perfect, Master. I am perfect, Master. I am perfect, Master. I am perfect, Master. I am perfect, Master. I am perfect, Master. I am perfect, Master.

“Thank you, Master.”

He ended the phone call, turned to the person sitting next to him and said, “I think that went really well.”

Vonn Scott Bair

 

Leave a Reply

