A Sad Day at the Civic Center Farmers Market, 18 July 2012

Standard

Good Evening:

Cherry Season is over.

A moment of silence, please, in memory of two of the happiest months of a San Francisco locavore’s year. This year, it lasted from mid-May through Sunday, July 15. It wasn’t a great year for Rainier (or Flame) Cherries, but the classic black cherries were in good shape for most of the season (although 2010 remains my favorite). I am finishing off the last of the season’s bounty even as I write.

You will not be forgotten.

On the other hand, the Civic Center Farmers Market still has blueberries, and the melons (pardon me, I meant to write MELONS!!) have just begun to arrive. Peaches and nectarines have flooded the market. So I guess the next two months will also be two of the happiest months of a San Francisco locavore’s year. Actually, perhaps every month is one of the happiest months in a San Francisco locavore’s year. Here are more pictures I’ve taken of the produce at the farmers market over the years. I like to use them as desktop pictures on my computer.

Sweet, Yukon Gold, and Red Potatoes

White Onions

Chilis, Medium Hot

Chilis, Mind-Blowingly Hot

Shallots, Garlic and Potatoes

Tangerines

This next is a personal favorite of mine.

Strawberries

I don’t make a major political or philosophical issue over food in the sense that I don’t have one of those snob attitiudes that will make other people do anything except accept your views and adopt them as their own. It just sorta happened; since California is the home of a tremendous bounty and variety of produce (one day I simply must tell you about Blood Limes), it’s easy to walk across the street from work and load up on a rich assortment of goodies, no matter what season of the year, and at the same time spend a fraction of what you would pay at the supermarket for less fresh fruits and vegetables shipped long distances, or even imported. If there’s one thing I try to avoid at all times, it’s preaching to people. I’d much rather say, “Try this.”

I’m a locavore because I like to eat. A lot. I like to cook. A lot. It’s that simple.

Wishing You Good Eating Always, I Remain,

Yours Truly,

Vonn Scott Bair

Leave a Reply

