The Surreal Is That Which Lies at Your Feet, 8 November 2012

Standard

Good Evening:

I still seek the origin of the phrase in the title of this post; I keep thinking it came from a Surrealist like Breton or Magritte, but have had no luck so far finding the originator. All I know is that I’m convinced that I did not invent it.

Nor did I invent this:

“Free Wi-Fi”

I can’t believe I have recourse to this same obscure saying so soon after my first mention, but there I stood at the intersection of Vallejo and Columbus in San Francisco’s legendary North Beach neighborhood looking at the surreal which lay at my feet. What can I say? I still don’t understand reality. Some more picture from this exhibition:

“You Are Barnum and Bailey”

“…staring at your idiot phone”

“Johnny Cash’s Last Words”

San Francisco – It’s Never Boring.

I probably need to copyright that.

Vonn Scott Bair

Leave a Reply

