The View from WordPress–Literally: Or, Further Proof That Geeks Are Sexy

Standard

Good Evening:

The folks at Automattic (in other words, the folks who gave us the WordPress universe) hosted one of the hundreds of 12/21/12 Mayan Apocalypse that dotted the city of San Francisco like sprinkles on an ice cream cone last Friday night. Located high up in one of the very few office towers on Mission south of 16th Street, they have a great view of the neighborhood:

View of Mission Street on Friday Night from Automattic; iPhone 4 photo converted to "oil" using Sketcher

View of Mission Street on Friday Night from Automattic; iPhone 4 photo converted to “oil” using Sketcher

Automattic does PR right; the people who work there treat everyone decently, take all your questions seriously, and don’t condescend to anyone. More important, they provide ample supplies of free pizza and beer. Turns out that I was one of the few bloggers present; most people present develop for the WP universe.

This became an issue as I discussed baseball with G___, one of the developers. We sat opposite to each other in two sofas talking when an impeccably cute Asian woman half my age bounced onto my sofa, clutched my left upper arm with both of her hands, and told me that it was so great that Automattic hosted events like this where developers and app creators could meet and share their ideas.

I said, “I guess, but really, I’m a blogger.”

“A blogger?! Not a developer?!

“No, but G___ here has created apps and themes for WordPress, and…”

Before I could finish, the impeccably cute Asian woman half my age bounced off my sofa, bounced once off the floor, bounced onto his sofa, clutched his left upper arm with both of her hands, and told him that it was so great that Automattic hosted events like this where developers and app creators could meet and share their ideas.

The accidental Cupid, having done his job, left.

Those gosh darn Geeks are just too gosh darn sexy for me to compete.

Vonn Scott Bair

3 responses »

  1. Great post. I was checking continuously this weblog and
    I’m impressed! Extremely helpful info specially the ultimate section 🙂 I maintain such information a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a long time. Thanks and best of luck.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Future Tense – Constructing San Francisco, Part IV « The San Francisco Scene--Seen!

Leave a Reply

