Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward – Moving Forward

Standard

Good Evening:

I wasn’t even looking for pictures for this week’s challenge. I only wanted to photograph one of my favorite neighborhoods, the South of Market (Soma), during the Magic Hour. But these durned critters, human and otherwise, got in the way whilst they moved forward to their destinations.

First, I had spotted an exterior wall suitable for my “Someone Notices the Contrast of White on White” collection and had started to add pictures when this chap got in the way (pictures taken with an iPhone 4 and edited in iPhoto):

Pigeon Walking in Front of Picture, 11th Street, San Francisco, 23 February 2013

Pigeon Walking in Front of Picture, 11th Street, San Francisco, 23 February 2013

Couldn’t be bothered to fly, could only rouse itself to walk. Then I wandered off to Folsom Street to photograph some of the light industrial buildings that fill in the gaps between the restaurants, bars, night clubs and sex clubs.

IMG_4264

Now this one I wanted to capture. I got very lucky and timed the shot for the exact fraction of a second when the bicyclist passed in front of the word “Auto.”

When I returned home at sunset, I saw one more object moving forward through the sky:

Jet Trail Against the Sunset, San Francisco, California, 23 February 2013

Jet Trail Against the Sunset, San Francisco, California, 23 February 2013

I chose my Nikon Coolpix S9100 point-and-shoot because I wanted to use the Dusk setting. It intensifies all of the colors of a sunset, and accentuated the blue and pink, making it easier to spot the plane.

Wasn’t even trying; got very lucky; I must be a photographer.

Vonn Scott Bair

2 responses »

    • xpat92: Thanks! That building in the first photo is an oddity even by the odd standards of San Francisco architecture. That puffy exterior looks soft and cushy, but is quite hard in reality. I have no idea what the designers had in mind or why they thought it was necessary. Vonn Scott Bair

Leave a Reply

