Phoneography Challenge: My Neighborhood – San Francisco Fog

Standard

Good Evening:

San Francisco fog is overrated.

There. I said it. I don’t care if I have committed treason, sacrilege, blasphemy and libel against my hometown. I have seen real fog: fog on the back roads of Connecticut can get so thick that you can’t see more than six feet in front of you. Fog along the coast of Sonoma County comes in so hard and heavy from the ocean that all travel has to cease at night or turn around and head inland.

San Francisco’s fog in most neighborhoods is a pretty thin broth by comparison.

Most of the time.

Southeast View from My Apartment, 6:55 a.m., Wednesday, 13 March 2013

Southeast View from My Apartment, 6:55 a.m., Wednesday, 13 March 2013

When I awoke this morning, I could not figure out why my apartment was so dark.

Southern View from My Apartment, 6:55 a.m., Wednesday, 13 March 2013

Southern View from My Apartment, 6:55 a.m., Wednesday, 13 March 2013

There are hills beyond these Edwardians. Honest.

Southwest View from My Apartment, 6:55 a.m., Wednesday, 13 March 2013

Southwest View from My Apartment, 6:55 a.m., Wednesday, 13 March 2013

Not Connecticut Opalescent Opaque by any means, but impressive.

Since I still have an iPhone 4, all 3 pictures came out pixellated, which is fine by me. My plans with these pictures consist first of blurring them even more and then using software such as Sketcher and Photoshop Elements (just bought it) to create “watercolors” and “oil paintings” from them. I think the middle one has promise. Somehow, I don’t think that make these pictures less pixellated, more in focus, more like photographs (!) will prove the best treatment.

Vonn Scott Bair

8 responses »

  1. Hi Vonn,
    Yes, it is not quite pea soup; like a light foggy wrap. 🙂
    Do you like smart phone photography? I said to friends that doing this challenge is a step out of my “photo comfort zone” . I still prefer the black box but,I am trying new stuff 🙂 Cheers!

    • xpat92: The best camera in the world is the one you have in your hand when you need to have a camera in your hand, so i have had many an occasion to like my iPhone4. The camera’s capabilities are limited, but that’s no problem anymore, not when you can turn a pixelated mess into an Impressionist painting and say “I meant to do that.” Vonn Scott Bair

  2. Usually this SF fog makes me all sad, but, as I was jogging this morning with my dual stroller, it actually felt really nice. I’m sure it was better than jogging in Connecticut. 😉

  3. Pingback: Phoneography Challenge: My Neighborhood – San Francisco Dawn « The San Francisco Scene--Seen!

Leave a Reply

