Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime – A Week of Box Lunches

Standard

Good Evening:

I decided to save the pictures for one big post. I like to cook a variety of dishes on Sunday, then put them together in various combinations for lunch and dinner throughout the week. This week’s batches featured a few new experiments in culinary glory (or the lack thereof). All photos taken in various lunchrooms at work with my iPhone 4 using only natural light, all unedited.

Monday:

Corned Beef and Carrots Braised in Sherry and Rosemary, with Baked Potato

Corned Beef and Carrots Braised in Sherry and Rosemary, with Baked Potato

Tuesday:

Pan-Roasted Chicken Thighs with Cumin, Potatoes Roasted with Rosemary and Sage, Carrots

Pan-Roasted Chicken Thighs with Cumin, Potatoes Roasted with Rosemary and Sage, Carrots

Wednesday:

Chicken Thigh, Roast Potatoes, Carrots

Chicken Thigh, Roast Potatoes, Carrots

At this point I realized that I had only brought carrots to lunch. Thursday:

Corned Beef; Baked Potato; Mushrooms in Red Wine, Mustard and Rosemary Sauce; Fennel, Leeks and Celery Sauteed in White Wine and Butter

Corned Beef; Baked Potato; Mushrooms in Red Wine, Mustard and Rosemary Sauce; Fennel, Leeks and Celery Sauteed in White Wine and Butter

Both of the vegetable dishes were experiments. The green vegetables were a total success, the red wine sauce was a little tart. But I think I know how to fix that. Friday:

Corned Beef; Fennel, Leeks and Celery; White Rice

Corned Beef; Fennel, Leeks and Celery; White Rice

Bonus picture! Friday evening, before going to act in Just One More Game:

Corned Beef, Mushrooms, White Rice

Corned Beef, Mushrooms, White Rice

It ain’t flattery if it’s true: a lot of people at work compliment me on how good my food smells. Funny thing is that I’m by no means the only good amateur cook. Must be the heavy use of herbs and spices.

Vonn Scott Bair

2 responses »

  1. This made me hungry. So hungry! Haha. This seems like a great idea for work, I don’t have a job atm as I’m at university but this could still work well for that lifestyle too. Do you make different meats / vegies each Sunday for the week? (obviously not different every time, haha, that might take a lot of work)
    I now need carrots and chicken thighs!

    • jessmittens: Thank you for writing! Usually I have the same meal for lunch all week; I make a giant pot of something vegetarian, carnivore-ish, or vegan, such a ratatouille or stew, pack them up in containers on Sunday and store them in the icebox. Five or more meals for the week, and sometimes the food ingredients cost less than $10 total. The typical restaurant lunch near where I work costs at least $15. I worked my way through college in restaurants and by now *that* education has saved me at least $100,000, perhaps even a quarter-million. Vonn Scott Bair

Leave a Reply

