Weekly Photo Challenge: Color – Civic Center Farmers Market

Standard

Good Evening:

No doubt others have contributed farmers market pictures in response to this week’s Challenge. I went to San Francisco’s Civic Center market today for mine. As a matter of courtesy, I don’t take pictures if I don’t buy something first, so while I passed on the flowers at one market stall…

IMG_4599

…I loaded up on their shallots.

IMG_4602

Yes, I know–more practical than pretty.

IMG_4605

Unfortunately, the picture of the radishes I bought at another stall turned out bizarrely overexposed (on a cloudy day?!), so here is a picture of their asparagus instead. This shot reveals a curious quirk in the iPhone 4: the camera focused on the blue rubber bands instead of the stalks.

IMG_4606

One of my current culinary hobbies consists of using oranges in seafood recipes. My next experiment will use shrimp, sherry, saffron, smoked paprika, a few of those shallots, and some of these blood oranges.

IMG_4608

A favorite stall of mine sells nothing but honey including these sticks filled with flavored versions (it’s also a favorite stall of my co-workers, since I buy a batch of these at 3/$1 and share). My personal favorites are the peach, cinnamon and root beer, but everyone has their own preferences.

I hope I didn’t make anyone feel too hungry.

Vonn Scott Bair

6 responses »

    • mithriluna: Glad you like ’em! That shot of the iris was one a few quick snaps; I had no idea it was any good until I uploaded it to my computer and had a close look. Vonn Scott Bair

  1. Yes, the irises are stunning. Our farmer’s market went outdoors last Saturday and I did a market post, too. We don’t have as much yet, but there was still enough to make a great pictorial story.

    janet

    • sustainabilitea: Yes, I saw the picture and that was quite a good one. I haven’t edited the picture at all, but I do feel tempted to experiment with duplicates and see what kind of results I get. Vonn Scott Bair

    • Naomi Baltuck: Thanks for writing. I won’t have time to work on that iris photo until next week at the earliest, but I remain *very* eager to see what I can do with it. Vonn Scott Bair

Leave a Reply

