Weekly Photo Challenge: Color – Ben & Jerry’s Free Ice Cream Day!

Standard

Good Afternoon:

When you see a line like this in April at the intersection of Haight & Ashbury, it can mean only one thing:

IMG_4645

Time to score some free Ben & Jerry’s.

The annual tradition dates back to 1979, and yes, has become a major event in the Upper Haight. The gentleman at the front door managing traffic told me they expected to move 6,000 servings of ice cream during the eight-hour event, and “yeah, we hit the gym to train for this.” I think he was joking. Unless I’m wrong. While someone behind me moaned, “Oh, man, they’re giving away only nine free flavors?” I realized that ice cream is nothing if not a) cold and b) colorful. So here are a few pix, including my choice, the Berry Berry Extraordinary Sorbet.

IMG_4646 IMG_4649

Vonn Scott Bair

2 responses »

    • sharynni: Thank you for visiting, both my blog and my city. The B&J free cone promotion takes place at every one of their parlors, but I’ve heard that they stagger them throughout the month, so maybe you’re not too late for one at a B&J near you. And as for San Francisco, you’re always welcome to come back. Vonn Scott Bair

Leave a Reply

