Weekly Photo Challenge: Change – Change in San Francisco, Spare Change from Uncle Sam

Standard

Good Morning:

I experienced two kinds of change in one day on Friday. First, nothing says change in today’s San Francisco quite like a construction site:

100 Van Ness Avenue Construction Site, April 2013

100 Van Ness Avenue Construction Site, April 2013

And then I paid my annual April visit to my tax preparer. Shared my usual collection of gov’t forms, spreadsheets and receipts. After vast quantities of deducting this, taxing that, and gimcracking the whatchamacallit (a very important step)–not to mention deducting my preparer’s fee for all of her hard work–I can state with all the accuracy vested in me by the power of my iPhone’s calculator that during the 366 days of the year 2012 C.E., for living in the great city of San Francisco in the great state of California in the great United States of America, the Internal Revenue Service and the State of California paid me 4,412.8 basis points per day.

In real English, my net rebate equalled approximately 44.128 cents per day.

Now that is a good deal.

Please don’t tell the Internal Revenue Service and the State of California, but I would happily enjoy living in the great city of San Francisco in the great state of California in the great United States of America–for free.

But don’t tell them that; I want my approximately 44.128 cents per day.

Vonn Scott Bair

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

