The Minimally Artistic Art of Instant Minimalist Art, 28 April 2013: Sunday Greys and Some Curious Blues

Standard

Good Evening:

The minimall on Geary between Presidio and Masonic has seen better days. Much better days. Mervyn’s is long gone, Office Depot recently gone, and suddenly the vacancies make the overall shabbiness of the half-century complex obvious, like going to a shoe store for a new pair and suddenly realizing how worn out your current shoes have become.

Some sort of massive renovation has begun there, however I can’t tell what the final result will be. If they want to tear down the whole edifice, bring in more of San Francisco’s construction cranes and construct three or four stories of apartments, I won’t object. I certainly won’t feel surprised. But on Sunday I wandered past and saw something I hadn’t noticed before: the strangest patterns of grey (my favorite underrated color, see here and here and here) I’ve ever seen. I had my point-and-shoot with me, and proceeded to take several dozen pictures, some with a very odd result.

DSCN5109 DSCN5103 DSCN5102 DSCN5097 DSCN5087 DSCN5077 DSCN5070 DSCN5062_2 DSCN5058

Blue?! What’s that doing here? The grey pictures above show the true colors of the scene. I used the Landscape setting for all of these shots. Aside from turning the blue pictures into black-and-whites, I will return to the site with different cameras and try again. Curious art, this photography stuff and nonsense.

Vonn Scott Bair

One response »

  1. Pingback: The Minimally Artistic Art of Instant Minimalist Art, 8 August 2014 (Weekly Photo Challenge: Texture) | The San Francisco Scene--Seen!

Leave a Reply

