Recipe: The Sorbet Float

Standard

Good Afternoon:

Lugging around a camera and two shopping bags filled with groceries and household cleaners in the bright sunshine and brutal 70 degree heat of a San Francisco summer Saturday afternoon will turn anyone hot, sweaty and tired. So when I crawled home from my chores, I staggered into the kitchen, pulled my leftover homemade Blackberry-Strawberry Sorbet out of the freezer, pulled a bottle of seltzer from the fridge, and did the following:

  1. Dumped about 4-6 ounces of sorbet into the bottom of a pint glass;
  2. Filled the glass with seltzer; and then
  3. Stirred until the sorbet had mostly dissolved.

Finally, I drank it.

Or-bleeping-gasmic.

I strongly recommend you try something like this on your next super-hot summer day. Any fruit-flavored sorbet should work just fine, although I do recommend letting it soften at room temperature for a few minutes first. Also, if I drank hard liquor, I would experiment with a shot of white rum or vodka.

Vonn Scott Bair

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

