Selected San Francisco Saturday Snippets

Standard

Good Morning:

The things we say in this town. And yes, we do have 6-way intersections in this town.

Near the 6-Way Intersection of Treat, Harrison and 16th Streets, San Francisco, CA, 6 July 2013

Near the 6-Way Intersection of Treat, Harrison and 16th Streets, San Francisco, CA, 6 July 2013

Snippet No 1:

Young woman in dark hair and sunglasses: “Organic homemade monkeys! That is so funny!”

Boyfriend: “I know, right?”

Commentary: Don’t you wish I had heard the rest of that conversation?

Jack Kerouac Alley, San Francisco, California, 6 July 2013, 1:26 p.m.

Green Series: Jack Kerouac Alley, San Francisco, California, 6 July 2013, 1:26 p.m.

Snippet No. 2:

Two males walking in front of San Francisco City Hall, mid-twenties, one South Asian, the other Caucasian and born and raised in the USA, looking like techies or at least looking like they wanna look like techies:

South Asian: “Hinduism is a religion, India is a country! Hinduism is a religion, India is a country!! Hinduism is a religion, India is a country!!!”

American-Born: “Oh, so India is like a place then, right?

Commentary: I hope Mr. USA was just having fun with his friend. I hope this doesn’t reflect upon our educational system.

13th & Division, San Francisco, California, 6 July 2013, 3:40 p.m.

White & Blue Series: 13th & Division, San Francisco, California, 6 July 2013, 3:40 p.m.

Weed Near 6-Way Intersection of Treat, Harrison & 16th Streets, San Francisco, CA, 6 July 2013

Weed Near 6-Way Intersection of Treat, Harrison & 16th Streets, San Francisco, CA, 6 July 2013

Snippet No. 3:

During the course of running errands yesterday I learned that a jet had crashed upon landing at San Francisco International Airport (SFO), killing two (as of this writing) and injuring dozens. As I waited for the light to change at 11th and Bryant Streets so I could continue walking to the bus stop, a pair of couples (all Caucasian) doing their own chores happened to join me. Already present was a homeless man sitting on the edge of the sidewalk looking about 40-50 years old with all of his possessions in a duffel bag, except for a radio sitting next to him on the sidewalk tuned to a news station, and a half-inch pile of receipts that he thumbed through carefully, inspecting each one. He hadn’t noticed us at first, so intently had he concentrated upon his receipts, but when he did see us, he went into what I can only describe as a sort of act, sounding something like this:

“They talk about plane crash at SFO, ‘n I don’ care! They say people die inna crash, n’ I don’ care! I don’ care, I don’ care, I don’ care! They ain’t no bruzz n’ sistuhz onna plane! White people, Chinese people, Mexican people, they can all die! I don’ care, I don’ care, I don’ care! Bruzz n’ sistuhz don’ fly on no plane! All’a radio talk about is the big plane crash at SFO, n’ I don’ care! They can crash all they wan’ n’ I don’ care! All I hear is the plane crash, but I don’ care if them white people, Chinese or Mexican die! I don’ care, I don’ care, I don’ care!”

All five of us kept our eyes fixed straight ahead, said nothing, and then the light turned in our favor, we walked across the intersection without looking back. Well, everyone did except me. I glanced quickly over my shoulder at the homeless man. He had stopped speaking, and totally ignoring us, he had returned to thumbing through his receipts, carefully inspecting each one.

Commentary: I did not feel offended. This was what scientists call a “threat display,” designed to intimidate and scare away potential predators by looking and/or sounding bigger and/or more dangerous that he really was. Basically, he was scared of us.

I hope you all have a very good weekend.

Vonn Scott Bair

6 responses »

  1. Eavesdropping can be interesting and/or frustrating (when you only catch a snippet), fortunately Americans speak quite loudly so it’s not too difficult to hear… 🙂

    Sorry to hear about the plane crash though.

    • Heyjude: LOUD?! WHO SAYS WE’RE LOUD?! On a serious note, the crash was a bad one; one mystery the FAA has to solve is why there were so few fatalities. Incredibly, one passenger tweeted about the crash while still on board, in his seat! Vonn Scott Bair

    • cd1972: Thanks! Believe it or not, aside from cropping one of them, all of these shots are unedited, and I used my point-and-shoot camera with the default Landscape setting. Strictly a matter of right place, right time, right light. Vonn Scott Bair

Leave a Reply

