The Friday Flu (Weekly Photo Challenge: Carefree)

Standard

Good Evening:

Since I have spent virtually all of my working life in San Francisco, I have no basis for making comparisons; however, it would not surprise me if my home town has an unusually high incidence of The Friday Flu (and its cousin, The Monday Malady). The Friday Flu was the nickname for the disease that always struck one of my co-workers in a previous work environment. She always came down with some sort of ailment on Friday, on rare occasions Monday. Never Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday. I wonder how often The Friday Flu afflicts other cities by comparison. I do have a pretty good idea how badly it afflicts San Francisco. The buses become unusually empty on Friday mornings, and I usually find a seat.

Here are some of the pictures I took at San Francisco’s Civic Center today of The Friday Flu victims. They might look carefree to you, but when they awoke this morning, they felt too ill to go to work.

DSCN7419

I took these pictures during my afternoon 15-minute break at about 3:15 p.m. today. I’ve experimented with a new (for me) technique of street photography which I will share with you once I’ve perfected it; right now, I still have problems with excessive tilt and blurring. These three pictures, all cropped severely and straightened as much as possible, were the comparatively best of the afternoon.

DSCN7442 DSCN7439

Look at all those poor unfortunate souls. Some might actually have taken a vacation day, but most of them were suffering from The Friday Flu. They might look “Carefree” to you, but you know, you just know that most of them probably had terrible tummy aches when they awoke this morning.

Have a carefree, fun and healthy weekend.

Vonn Scott Bair

5 responses »

    • Madelaine: I feel quite certain that someone somewhere at some university has done research on the subject and come up with a reasonable estimate of how often it happens and at what cost to an economy. Vonn Scott Bair

  1. One of the funniest reasons I’ve heard for staying home from work was a past co-worker who would joke: “I have a vision problem today… I just can’t see myself coming in to work.” 🙂

  2. Pingback: Casual Thursday in San Francisco, 24 July 2014 | The San Francisco Scene--Seen!

Leave a Reply

