San Francisco Giants 4, Pittsburgh Pirates 0 (Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus)

Standard

Good Evening:

Apetrue, no make that aperture, has always baffled me. Can’t even spell it right. But I already had a ticket to see today’s ballgame, and WordPress had given us Focus as our Challenge, so I could hardly resist multitasking.

Aretepure remains a challenge. Still not clear on what it does and why small numbers equal big apreturrs, and large numbers equal small arptuers. I also discovered the hard way that my polarizing filter seems to have some spots, blemishes, or some other problem. All of these shots are unedited, taken with my Nikon D40 DSLR.

My strategy was simple; pick a scene, shoot it roughly 15 times using each and every artreprue setting from smallest number to the largest. The first shot is the only one here using the smallest number available (it was 5; sometimes the smallest number was higher or lower).

DSC_0002

The next batch all featured peartrues of at least 25. Obviously, I cheated: using such inherently spectacular scenery gave me excellent chances of accidentally taking a decent picture.

DSC_0171 DSC_0159 DSC_0064

The gentleman wearing #32 at the bottom of the third picture is Ryan Vogelsong, the starting pitcher for the Giants. He threw 8 innings, allowed only 2 hits, and thoroughly earned the victory.

I don’t remember what setting I used for this last: I might have switched to the default Landscape mode, but it seems possible that I still had an pertarue setting in the high 20s. I think this one might prove worthy of careful editing to cure the tilt, increase exposure, et cetera.

DSC_0224

Ah, well; one of these I shall suddenly “get” what everyone else understands instinctively. Meanwhile, I shall flail away at the buttons on my camera. Have a good week full of accurate aperture settings–and spellings.

Vonn Scott Bair

2 responses »

  1. Great photo of the bay bridge and across the bay! My first time in california was this summer (and the US actually) and I went to the SF giants LA dodgers game, the stadium just blew my mind and its great to see it here again with the amazing views I remember! Hoping when it comes to posting my entry my photos recreate the moment just as well!

Leave a Reply

