Grey Series: Low Tide at Land’s End & Seal Rocks, 31 August 2013 (Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea)

Standard

Good Morning:

My first response to this week’s Challenge, an inspirational challenge if you live on the Pacific Coast of North America in general, and San Francisco in particular. Until yesterday I had never created a photo essay at Land’s End/Seal Rocks at low tide and the summer fog lent itself to a number of pictures to add to my Grey Series. If you’re new to my blog, I have a bit of an obsession with grey, the most sadly underrated of colors. See here, here and here for more examples of my collection. I took other pictures, of course, and will share the better ones later.

Grey Series: Seal Rocks, Sailboat, Tree, 083113

Grey Series: Seal Rocks, Sailboat, Tree, 083113

Try and guess what time I visited. Your only clues are the pictures.

Grey Series: Feeling Small at Seal Rocks, San Francisco, CA 083113

Grey Series: Feeling Small at Seal Rocks, San Francisco, CA 083113

Believe it or not, I arrived at Land’s End/Seal Rocks after 11:30 yesterday morning. Just another shimmering summery sunny day in shimmering summery sunny San Francisco.

Grey Series Two Pillars 083113

These pillars represent some of what little remains of Sutro Baths. If there is anything nature does better than make a mockery of people’s puny pretensions to permanence–you will have to tell me what it is, for I will surely fail to figure it out on my own.

DSC_0052

Some of these are natural, some weathered ruins of the Baths. Doesn’t matter, really; in time, and not much time by geological standards, the surf will pound and weather them all to sand.

These sailors know where they are and where they are going. Not that long ago, this was all a mystery.

Grey Series: Three Sailboats Past Land's End, San Francisco, CA 083113

Grey Series: Three Sailboats Past Land’s End, San Francisco, CA 083113

Grey Series: Lone Sailboat, San Francisco, California 083113

Grey Series: Lone Sailboat, San Francisco, California 083113

Today the sun broke through the fog early in my neighborhood. I feel quite tempted to visit the beach again and show the same ocean with different colors. Have a good weekend.

Vonn Scott Bair

4 responses »

  1. It does look pretty foggy at Sutro baths….i’m cold just looking

    I’m inviting you to join us for Travel Photo Mondays, the link runs all week so I hope you can join us for the next installment?

Leave a Reply

