Recipe: Dr. Vonn’s Magic Dust (Spice Blend for Deep-Fried Dishes)

Standard

Good Evening:

Maybe this will prove nothing more than a figment of my imagination, but I honestly believe that I have created a perfect spice blend for deep-fried dishes, and I mean all deep-fried foods; fried chicken, breaded and deep-fried Provolone sticks, french fries, breaded and deep-fried veggies, et cetera. Naturally, I will continue to tweak and experiment with different proportions, but I present the best I’ve devised so far.

Dr. Vonn’s Magic Dust

  • 2 Tablespoons powdered onion
  • 2 Tablespoons powdered or granulated garlic
  • 2 Tablespoons freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon salt (I prefer low salt dishes, you can add more)
  • 2 Tablespoons thyme (powdered or “rubbed” if you can find it)
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)
  • 2 Tablespoons Spanish pimenton (smoked paprika)
  • 2-3 Tablespoons smoked cinnamon

Place all ingredients into a clean, sterile, and dry jar with a screw top lid. Seal tightly and shake vigorously. Shake some onto french fries so you can get a good feel for the taste and whether or not you want to adjust proportions. Should keep for a few months at least.

The most critically important ingredient, and the most difficult to locate, is the smoked cinnamon. Amazon has exactly one source of the spice, while I get my supply from The Ingredient Finder, but it is super-duper-ultra worth the search. In terms of taste, it blends well with the smoked paprika, but the aroma! WOW. That smell truly excites me. This ingredient has not caught on in American cooking yet (which explains why it remains pretty darn expensive), but I can’t see that continuing much longer.

In future experiments, I will use powdered rosemary, rubbed sage, perhaps some combination of rosemary, sage, thyme and maybe oregano, for I am an ethical mad scientist–I only experiment upon myself.

Vonn Scott Bair

Leave a Reply

