Recent Urban Landscapes (Weekly Photo Challenge: From Lines to Patterns)

Standard

Good Morning:

My recent pictures seems to include a large number of acceptably good urban landscapes, so I present a collection that demonstrates this week’s Challenge. The first two consist of two versions of the same photo, one color, one black-and-white. I have not decided yet which is better or if they should appear together as a diptych:

DSCN7773_2 DSCN7773_2_2

With over 800,000 inhabitants on less than 49 square miles, San Francisco ranks among America’s most densely populated cities, and yet you will observe almost zero humans in this collection. I like to portray the urban landscape of San Francisco as devoid of humans to give a sense of desolation and emptiness. I also like the challenge of photographing the city without letting anyone get in the shot. Speaking of which, most of these shots come from the South of Market (SOMA) district of the city during recent weekends, a light industrial area full of auto shops; SOMA tends to empty out on weekend days, then livens up at night when the clubs open.

Of course I have more construction equipment shots: the building boom keeps booming.

DSCN7723 DSCN8493 DSCN8364

About two doors down from SFPUC HQ stands an old building that presents nothing of interest from the street, yet from the floor on which I work, the roof of all things (yes, the roof) sometimes presents an intriguing look.

DSCN6966 DSCN6968 DSCN8499

And now a few that also belong to my “White & Blue” series.

DSCN7795_2 DSCN8466 DSCN6617

These next shots come from a chilly overcast day (in other words, San Francisco in the summer).

DSCN6857 DSCN6854 DSCN6853

I close with a miscellany. Thank you for reading/viewing.

DSCN8372 DSCN6663 DSCN8449 DSCN6601

Vonn Scott Bair

6 responses »

    • jfb57: Thanks for writing. I still haven’t made up my mind about polls. On the one hand, they might offer a little more entertainment for my readers; on the other hand, I don’t want to give the impression that I think I’m so danged important that I can ask people to go to the trouble of voting. Vonn Scott Bair

    • cynthiamc1: When I photographed those flowers, I had a feeling they would turn out well. As for people-less shots in San Francisco, it’s a matter of being in the right place at the right time–and having very little time. I took some of these pictures a split-second after one wave of cars had passed, and a split-second before the arrival of a second wave. Vonn Scott Bair

Leave a Reply

