Purple. (Weekly Photo Challenge: The Hue in You)

Standard

Good Afternoon:

San Francisco needs more purple.

There. I said it. And I won’t take it back, either, because that’s just the kind of cantankerous, rambunctious, rebellious dude that I am. Our thousands of murals include surprisingly little purple, tragic given that this royal color happens to be my all-time favorite. Forthwith, a very small sample from two of the very few murals in this city that use the color.

DSCN9444 DSCN9442 DSCN9460 DSCN9456 DSCN9455

I can’t imagine why such a dramatic color doesn’t appear on more of our dramatic murals.

Vonn Scott Bair

12 responses »

    • Lily Mugford: Hundreds, perhaps thousands. Purple just happens to be a lesser used color. Offhand, I think that blue is the most popular color, with black and orange (SF Giants colors) next. Vonn Scott Bair

  1. When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
    With a red hat which doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.
    And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
    And satin sandals, and say we’ve no money for butter.

    ~ Jenny Joseph

    I LOVE purple 😀

  2. You are so right. If San Francisco were a hue I’d have to say Green and Red. The street cars used to all be that awful green color and the cable cars were red as well as the Golden Gate

    • moondustwriter: Yes, those old Green Torpedoes were much too dull for such a colorful city. The new collection of vintage street cars with their varied color schemes represents a big improvement. Vonn Scott Bair

Leave a Reply

