The Hard/Soft Dichotomy on Natoma, San Francisco, 2 November 2013

Standard

Good Morning:

I did not just explore view down below when I visited Natoma yesterday; I also looked up. Thanks to its location on the Pacific Coast, San Francisco enjoys some of the most spectacular and unusual cloud cover I’ve seen in the United States, and Saturday presented some very good examples.

In particular, quite a few examples of one specific hard/soft dichotomy floated over my head: the contrast of wide hard buildings with soft thin wisps of clouds. Such as this:

No Parking, Natoma, San Francisco, 2 November 2013

No Parking, Natoma, San Francisco, 2 November 2013

Or this, which will also go into my White & Blue Series:

DSC_0015

This weekend coincides with an “open studio” exhibition of San Francisco artists. One gentleman named Leo vanMunching showed some of his black and white photography at a nearby studio, and if you’re interested, you may visit his website at http://www.lvmphoto.com. More shots:

WordPress 110313 Hard-Soft DSC_0021

I also attended the world premiere of a play entitled Scamoramaland, a black comedy about Nigerian email scammers produced by Performers Under Stress. I had a good time and recommend the show to all. Two more:

WordPress 110313 Hard-Soft 3 WordPress 110313 Hard-Soft 2

On the bus home after the show I heard an odd voice mail message, the kind that makes me wonder if people realize how loud they get when they use cell phones to leave messages while traveling on public transit. The gentleman in question wore the de riguere (or however it’s spelled) black hair, scruffy wispy mustache and beard, all black clothing and knit cap of the 25-year-old techie or wannabe techie.

“Hi, it’s me. Um. Look, I just wanted to call you to say that um, I uh, don’t want you ever to contact me. I’m serious, I want to lose this phone number, lose my Twitter, my email, lose everything. I never want to hear from you again, and if you keep contacting me, I might even get something like a restraining order on you. I’m serious. Do not ever come near me again, just–don’t–anything.” He went silent for a few seconds. “You have my number, if you want to talk about it.”

He ended the call. Less than 30 seconds later his phone rang.

“Hi. Thanks for getting back to me.”

At which point, I turned my ears off.

Vonn Scott Bair

One response »

  1. Pingback: The Poetic Imperative of Email Scams: A Literary Consideration | The San Francisco Scene--Seen!

Leave a Reply

