Weddings @ San Francisco City Hall (Weekly Photo Challenge: Habit)

Standard

Good Evening:

A photo essay that combines four habits in one blog post! Now that constitutes good value for the money.

2-4 times each week, I get to enjoy a brisk 10 block round trip walk from San Francisco Public Utilities Commission headquarters to the City & County of San Francisco’s Department of Human Resources. This habitual walk helps me do my job and get in some exercise at the same time. The second habit? I always take my camera with me. You never know.

The third habit isn’t mine.

Photographing the Happy Couple after the City Hall Wedding, 4 November 2013

Photographing the Happy Couple after the City Hall Wedding, 4 November 2013

Couples have made a habit of officially tying the knot at San Francisco’s City Hall every since it opened. And why not? The architecture ranks among the best in American public buildings and the interior ground level under the dome is one of the most spectacular. Here’s another shot in black-and-white, because I can’t decide which works better.

Photography after the Civil Wedding at San Francisco's City Hall, 4 November 2013

Photography after the Civil Wedding at San Francisco’s City Hall, 4 November 2013

I don’t know if the older chap with the skateboard was just looking at me, or just looking at my camera, or if he realized I was taking a picture.

This couple eschewed the traditional limousine in favor something more environmentally friendly, more intimate, and yet more public, all at the same time.

Newlyweds in the Pedi-Cab, 8 November 2013

Newlyweds in the Pedi-Cab, 8 November 2013

But don’t think they travelled alone!

Newlyweds with Videographer, 8 November 2013

Newlyweds with Videographer, 8 November 2013

You really should not feel surprised they had a wedding videographer. That represents the fourth habit in this blog post! I challenge my fellow Pressers to see if they can cram five into one of theirs. My last photograph presented plenty of challenges, and even after straightening the shot, cropping it severely, and reducing the brightness slightly, it still doesn’t feel right.

DSCN9736

Ah, yes, the happy couple posing on their motor scooter. This took place at the other end of the plaza in front of City Hall, and honestly, occurred after my day had done and I was walking to my bus stop. But look at those shadows. Ah, yes, The Magic Hour. That wonderful accursed happy infuriating @#$%*^&! (pardon my language) Magic Hour which wreaks havoc on the “brains” of my point-and-shoot camera. Looks like the time has come for another attempt at B&W:

Motor Scooter Newly Marrieds, San Francisco Civic Center, 31 October 2013

Motor Scooter Newly Marrieds, San Francisco Civic Center, 31 October 2013

This time, I feel fairly certain that the B&W is slightly better, with a bit of a Winogrand slightly blurry feel as opposed to (for example) Friedlander. Of course, this photo shoot of the wedding photo shoot took place on Hallowe’en. They could have been in costume, because dressing up on October 31st is a fifth San Francisco habit.

Dang. I have described five habits in one photo essay. Not four. I’ve posed a bigger challenge to my blogging friends than I originally believed.

Vonn Scott Bair

7 responses »

    • adinparadise: Thanks. I knew the boarder had to be in the picture; fortunately, I had set my point-and-shoot to maximum zoom out. Then all I had to do consisted of straightening the shot and then finding the right crop. Street photography is tough! I have so little time to take the shot, but even less time to figure that something deserves to be photographed. Vonn Scott Bair

Leave a Reply

