The Minimally Artistic Art of Instant Minimalist Art: Brown & Grey (Weekly Photo Challenge: Layers)

Standard

Good Evening:

Geology fans must love getting dirty in San Francisco; I know my Dad did. Corona Heights and Land’s End both have expanses of exposed rock and sedimentary layers for study. First up, some pictures from Corona Heights.

DSCN5579

DSCN5596

But Land’s End/The Sutro Baths have their own pleasures. Only a few miles away, the colors alone differ significantly. So do the layers themselves, perhaps due in part to human influence.

DSC_0088 DSC_0225 DSC_0080 DSC_0043 DSC_0297

Note that some of the Land’s End layers are vertical, some horizontal, some diagonal. I didn’t tilt the camera for any of them, that’s just how the geology turned out. I would guess that I found all of these sedimentary formations within no more than 200 yards of each other.

Odd (but very cool) aspect of this Week’s Challenge: now that I’m actually looking for layers, I see them anywhere. And is that not what a good Challenge should do?

Vonn Scott Bair

10 responses »

    • Peter S: I’ve read other of McPhee’s work; he is an excellent non-fiction writer. I have read excerpts of Assembling California. It would probably not surprise you to know that the local papers covered the book closely. Vonn Scott Bair

Leave a Reply

