The Best Euphemism for Aging–Ever?

Standard

Good Evening:

After work today I took one of the City’s vintage trolley cars (the San Diego) downtown for a quartet of errands. I settled into a seat behind two African-American women of a certain age, both in heavy overcoats, horn-rimmed glasses and faux-fur lined hats.

The first woman said, “…and I told the man I was forty years old.”

“What?! No way you’re forty!”

“Yes, I am.”

“How old are you?”

“I am forty years old.”

“How old are you?!”

“I say forty.”

“How. Old. Are you??”

“I’m forty—-plus shipping and handling.”

If anyone has heard better than that, please share what you have overheard, because I thought that had to be the absolute best euphemism for aging ever, but would love to hear better.

Vonn Scott Bair

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Who Wants to Feel *Real* Old (Special Free Gigabyte Edition!), 16 January 2014 | The San Francisco Scene--Seen!

  2. Pingback: Birthday, Schmirthday. | The San Francisco Scene--Seen!

Leave a Reply

