From Inside the Boston Elevated in San Francisco (Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside)

Standard

Good Evening:

So I arrived home this evening to find this week’s photo challenge, Inside, in my in In Box. As it happens, I happened to take a few pictures from inside the Boston Elevated, one of the dozens of vintage street cars from around the country and a few foreign countries that meander up and down Market Street.

DSCN1704

The El (No. 1059) has a distinctive ride in comparison with other vintage street cars. It’s very bouncy, unlike the smooth ride of the Blackpool or the vibrating massage of the 1923 New Orleans. I had to discard about 80% of my shots because of the resulting blurriness. In fact, I took these next two pictures at red lights.

Nick's Foods, Market Near Gough, San Francisco, CA 5:15 p.m., 14 March 2014

Nick’s Foods, Market Near Gough, San Francisco, CA 5:15 p.m., 14 March 2014

FLAX, Market & Valencia, San Francisco, CA 5:17 p.m., 14 March 2014

FLAX, Market & Valencia, San Francisco, CA 5:17 p.m., 14 March 2014

“Inside” sounds like a perfect excuse to practice some photographic ideas I’ve turned around in my head, but I’ve already packed quite a few chores into the next two days. Maybe I can, maybe I’ll have to wait until some other time.

Vonn Scott Bair

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  2. I just adore your historic street trams and have dozens of photos of them, but not this one! My favourite is the 1818 – Milan, Italy – with its wooden seats.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside | Humbled Pie

Leave a Reply

