The Instant Art of Instant Abstract Art, 12 April 2014 (Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument)

Standard

Good Afternoon:

I won’t write that the Mary Ellen Pleasant Memorial Park is one of San Francisco’s smallest, except that um, well, uh, the Mary Ellen Pleasant Memorial Park is one of San Francisco’s smallest:

DSCN2105

That’s pretty much the entire park.

(And I need to stop right now to post a message to WordPress: whatever the admins are doing to this website, please STOP DOING IT. I have now experienced my fifth involuntary logout just to write the first four lines of this post–I have not yet inserted any images. I’m sorry to write this about one of my favorite websites, but–good grief, there’s involuntary logout NUMBER SIX. No, wait: now it’s seven.)

In addition to the monument, six eucalyptus trees were planted nearby in her memory, and one in particular interested me because it gave me the opportunity to practice a common theme of mine, Instant Abstract Art. Essentially, I take a closeup shot of an object until you can no longer tell what it is–all that remains are lines and colors. Such as these pictures of the bark:

DSCN2101 DSCN2107 DSCN2103 DSCN2109

Vonn Scott Bair

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

