Stained Glass Windows, Notre Dame Plaza, San Francisco, 10 August 2014 (Weekly Photo Challenge: Texture)

Standard

Good Evening:

They didn’t need Photoshop in the Middle Ages!

IMG_6305 IMG_6293

I attended a writers’ seminar Sunday afternoon at Notre Dame Plaza, a beautiful retirement community across the street from Mission Dolores near 16th & Dolores. We gathered in a chapel with stained glass windows, and during breaks I indulged in my hobby, using my iPhone 4. The original iPhone 4 has a flawed camera compared with later versions, but I’ve learned to exploit its weaknesses to my advantage, taking extreme closeups of the glass panes to use the textures created during the manufacture of the colored glass to do interesting things to the background scenery. No edits aside from cropping out distracting elements along the edges.

IMG_6304 IMG_6295 IMG_6292 IMG_6301 IMG_6293 IMG_6294

I found this window at the bottom of a stairwell.

IMG_6306

Even the stairway has its “textural” interest.

IMG_6300

Vonn Scott Bair

4 responses »

  1. What a great idea to picture the texture of thick glass. And I like that you can guess what there is to see behind the windows.

    • Cindy Hess: You know, you inspired me to take a closer look at my pictures and I spotted something I hadn’t noticed before. In the multi-pane pictures, one or two panes are clear enough that you can easily see the background, but in others, the background is so blurred it becomes abstract. Dang. I think I need to go back there to take more shots. Vonn Scott Bair

Leave a Reply

