“The sound of sidewalk;” Or, The Surreal Is That Which Lies At Your Feet, 21 August 2014

Standard

Good Evening:

I did not invent the title of this post. I think. I remain convinced that I have quoted someone else, but when I google the phrase “the surreal is that which lies at your feet,” all I find is myself stating that I remain convinced that I have quoted someone else. Sigh.

Which brings me to the intersection of 16th Street and Valencia, where I found a genre of street art I’ve never seen before: masking tape art. Obviously doomed to a short existence, masking tape art consists of writings in felt tip marker upon the tape, which is then affixed to the sidewalk (bulletin board walls seem a better choice to me, but evanescence seems part of the aesthetic of the temporary arts). I did not photograph all of the sayings. Instead, I photographed the writings that I felt could become their own poem or story–your choice here. Please note that I did not write a single word and do not claim credit or copyright.

The sound of sidewalk” Copyright: Not me!

DSCN4164 DSCN4165 DSCN4166 DSCN4168 DSCN4171 DSCN4169 DSCN4170 DSCN4167 DSCN4172

It’s sort of like refrigerator magnet poetry.

Vonn Scott Bair

Leave a Reply

