“Grey-set,” San Francisco, 17 January 2015. (Weekly Photo Challenge: Serenity)

Standard

Good Evening:

Don’t go around saying “grey-set” the next time you visit San Francisco, just because I wrote it. The natives will look at you as if you’ve gone nuts–just as they look at me when I say it. I’m the only one who does.

Grey-Set I, San Francisco, California, 5:26 p.m., 17 January 2015

Grey-Set I, San Francisco, California, 5:26 p.m., 17 January 2015

This week I finally upgraded from an iPhone 4 to an iPhone 6 Plus, and I couldn’t help revisiting favorite haunts to put the phone’s camera through its paces and practice this week’s Photo Challenge. Does it mean anything that I’ve taken over 100 pictures with my cell phone and made only one phone call?

Grey-Set II, San Francisco, California, 5:27 p.m., 17 January 2015.

Grey-Set II, San Francisco, California, 5:27 p.m., 17 January 2015.

Anyway, I travelled to Ocean Beach via the 71 bus, arriving about 1.5-2 miles south of Seal Rocks to test the low light capabilities. With the iPhone 4, such pictures cam out so pixelated that I usually had no choice but to apply graphics software and convert them to “watercolors” or “oils.” Thanks to the larger sensor in the 6 Plus, my photos seem to have a decent chance of remaining photos as long as I can touch them up in iPhoto by adjusting the Exposure, Definition, and Sharpness to get the shots as close to what I remembered seeing.

Grey-Set, San Francisco, California, 5:29 p.m., 17 January 2015

Grey-Set, San Francisco, California, 5:29 p.m., 17 January 2015

This last shot does have something akin to the pixelation of the 4. Interestingly, I took the picture only two minutes after the previous one, which shows how quickly the light changes at sunset and how quickly the landscape turns dark. To make this one as good as it might become will probably require first a crop (I’m thinking about getting rid of some of the beach to emphasize the figure’s tininess against the sea and sky), and then perhaps a conversion with an “oil” filter. So far, I feel quite pleased with the new camera! Oops. Did I write camera? I mean, pleased with the new video player. Oops. Did I write video player? I mean, pleased with the new game console. Oops. Did I write game console? I mean…

…I mean to stop here before I totally embarrass myself.

Vonn Scott Bair

PS–Does anyone use a cell phone to make, you know, for lack of a better term, phone calls?

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

