Fogset at Seal Rocks, San Francisco, California, 19 January 2015. (Weekly Photo Challenge: Serenity)

Standard

Good Evening:

“It had the potential to be a beautiful sunset, but then the fog rolled in and ruined everything.” Back when I was a beginner San Franciscan, I said the same sort of thing, so I understand and won’t criticize. “Fogsets” (another word of my invention and once again, normal San Franciscans will look at you funny if you say it) require time and practice to learn how to appreciate them.

Seal Rocks at the time I arrived (all pictures taken with my new iPhone 6 Plus):

Seal Rocks, San Francisco, California, 19 January 2015, 4:49:53 p.m.

Seal Rocks, San Francisco, California, 18 January 2015, 4:49:53 p.m.

The iPhone’s camera works very well in these low light conditions. The only weakness I can discern at this time is a very slight blueish cast to the greys. Note how everything appears crystal clear up to about 200 years away and then suddenly you can’t see anything. This is typical of many San Francisco fogs, unlike ones I’ve seen in other parts of the world with a gradually diminishing visibility.

The next picture shows the influence of Japanese watercolor landscapes.

Lone Tree at Seal Rocks, 19 January 2015.

Lone Tree at Seal Rocks, 18 January 2015.

Some of the ruins.

IMG_6711 IMG_6712

Two shots of visitors, both natives and tourists. People will come to watch any sunset (so to speak) at Seal Rocks, no matter what the weather or visibility. Especially in this conditions–despite the violence of the waves crashing upon the rocks, overall the scene feels so serene. I also wanted to capture a sense of the tininess of human beings within the context of nature.

IMG_6707 IMG_6648

And this is how the rocks appeared when I departed at 5:12 p.m.

IMG_6715

Didn’t take long for everything to vanish, did it?

Vonn Scott Bair

5 responses »

  1. Vonn, I really like this post for serene and I like your word “fogsets” – and my favorite shot is the 2nd to last – with the group of lined up folks to the right at 5:12.

  2. Vonn, my favorite is the second, but I had a chuckle when I read, “everything appears crystal clear up to about 200 years away.” No wonder it’s not clear if it’s more than 200 years away. 🙂

    janet

Leave a Reply

