Parents and Their Depth of Feeling. (Weekly Photo Challenge: Depth)

Standard

Good Afternoon:

So how do you explore the theme of Depth without resorting to the obvious–perspective, straight down shots from a high location, and the like? Well, inspiration came to me from the oddest source:

DSCN7558

…depth of feeling–specifically, the depth of feeling parents have for their children. So I snapped a bunch of character studies. The first picture, and the inspiration for the entire series, was this one, taken at Haight & Divisadero:

DSCN7499

I have 13 photos rated 5 stars out of 5 using iPhoto. 78 photos rated 4 stars. 289 rated 3 stars. Out of a total of 44,296 pictures on my hard drive. I force myself to rate my own photographs as harshly as possible, but I *might* rate this one as a 4-star. As usual, pure dumb luck–I didn’t look when I snapped the shot.

A few more, taken at the same intersection or downtown on Market Street:

DSCN7549 DSCN7502 DSCN7597

And just for fun, this offbeat selection.

DSCN7560

Vonn Scott Bair

Leave a Reply

