Don’t Walk & Talk on Market Street, San Francisco, 10 February 2015.

Standard

Good Evening:

I disembarked from one of San Francisco’s vintage trolley cars at the Market & Dolores stop this afternoon, along with a man in a black suit with white shirt and black tie who kept looking straight down as he spoke on his cell phone. He never looked about as he crossed the street to the sidewalk, he only looked straight down–not a very good idea when you step into the path of a speeding bicyclist.

“Look out!” said the bicyclist.

“You don’t say that to me!” said Black Suit.

“Look out!” shouted the bicyclist.

“You don’t say that to me!” said Black Suit.

“LOOK OUT!!”

“You don’t say that to me!” said Black Suit.

The bicyclist finally swerved around Black Suit at the last instant, saying, “Are you nuts?!”

“You don’t say that to me!” said Black Suit.

The bicyclist continued on his way home, and I followed Black Suit. I could have sworn that he never looked up, but it certainly seemed that he had responded to the bicyclist. Black Suit had no idea I walked behind him, and I listened to his ongoing conversation.

“No…no…no…no, you listen to me, you don’t say that to me. Hey, you know what? You know something? Let’s just break up. I am sick of this…What? What did you say? You don’t say that to me!”

Sure enough, he never had any idea of his surroundings, nor had he any idea that a bicyclist had nearly hit him. By a weird coincidence of timing, it just appeared that he had had an argument with a guy bearing down on him at 30+ mph.

Oh, well. Sunset looked good, although the good stuff floated above the eastern horizon:

Eastern Horizon at Sunset, San Francisco, California, 10 February 2015

Eastern Horizon at Sunset, San Francisco, California, 10 February 2015

Vonn Scott Bair

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Don’t Walk & Talk on Market Street, San Francisco, 10 February 2015. | The blog of COOPER APPAREL. Find us at https://www.facebook.com/Coopertees

Leave a Reply

